## REGULAR BOARD MEETING January 9, 2017

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on January 9, 2017 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Mike Forsgren, Charlie Blixt, Anne Peterson. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Barb Ripley, CJ Holl, Cary Haugrud, Lou Hoglund, Brent Frazier, Deb Evenson, Nadine Brown, Danielle Arntson, Trevor Steeves, Harold Holt.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jon Karger.

Nominations were opened for board chair.

Dena Johnson nominated Charlie Blixt for board chair. Charlie was the only candidate nominated for the office of chair, and Jon Karger hereby declared him elected by acclamation and directed the acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Nominations were opened for vice chair.

Charlie Blixt nominated Dena Johnson for vice chair. Dena was the only candidate nominated for the office of chair, and Charlie Blixt hereby declared her elected by acclamation and directed the acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Nominations were opened for board clerk.

Dena Johnson nominated Mike Forsgren for board clerk. Mike was the only candidate nominated for the office of chair, and Charlie Blixt hereby declared him elected by acclamation and directed the acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Nominations were opened for board treasurer.

Mike Forsgren nominated Kathy Ouren for board treasurer. Kathy was the only candidate nominated for the office of chair, and Charlie Blixt hereby declared her elected by acclamation and directed the acting clerk to so record in the minutes.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the meeting agenda with the following changes:

Add: Presentation by Mayor Brent Frazier

Remove: High School presentation

First reading of Policy 503

The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular December 19, 2016 meeting
Approve payment of the December 31<sup>st</sup> and January bills as presented
Approve donation to scholarships in memory of Tess Carlson-Constance Troe \$10

The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson approved the first reading of policies 504, 505, and 506. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.	
The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 pm.	
Charlie Blixt, Chair	Mike Forsgren, Clerk